Consultative Working Group on Cyber-safety

On 13 May 2008, the Government announced its cyber-safety plan encompassing cyber-safety education, international co-operation, research, law enforcement and filtering measures. A specific component of the plan provides for the establishment of a Consultative Working Group to provide advice to Government on cyber-safety issues.


The Group is a key initiative of the Australian Government's cyber-safety plan. It has the important role of providing advice to the Australian Government on measures to protect Australian children from cyber-safety risks including cyber-bullying, exposure to illegal content and privacy breaches.


The Group meets four times a year and has members drawn from community groups, internet service providers, industry associations, business and government.


The Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association is represented on the Working Group by Chris Althaus, the CEO.


On 15 May 2008 the Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Senator Stephen Conroy, announced the membership and terms of reference for a Consultative Working Group on cyber safety.